Let’s get ready to rhumble: Week 16

IMG_2140.JPGIt’s the final week before the London Marathon. I have been waiting for this day since July and have been properly training for 16 weeks, as well as base training since September last year.

It’s been a rollercoaster week. There have been days when I’ve felt so nervous I literally felt sick! Then other days where imagining crossing the finish line has had me welling up, days when I’ve doubted my ability to do this and the good days where I’ve been ready to take it on (and take it down YEAH!)

I’ve even been a marathonzilla! If you slightly joke about it or thinks of it as somewhat unimportant I go into a full blown (inward) strop of DO YOU NOT KNOW HOW IMPORTANT THIS IS TO ME?! Like literally on stupid levels and a part of me floats up looking at myself as if from above saying WHAT ARE YOU DOING? ITS JUST A MARATHON?! CALM YOUR SHIT! (Although I’m not sure that is limited to just this week, pretty sure I’ve been this way since January.)

IMG_2145This week my running has gone way down in the training plan. It is called tapering and supposed to make you feel on peak performance on race day as you get to the start line with rested legs. But it feels really odd. I mean my legs feel great and my runs are good and the pace has been great but running just 2 miles makes me have serious anxiety: what if I have lost all my long distance ability? I just have to trust in my plan and stay strong.

It has also been a week where I realise (once again) how great the people that I have in my life are. They’ve all been super supportive and sent good luck wishes and I’ve even had more sponsorship come in!
It’s pretty overwhelming to be supported this much and makes me feel really loved. So a big thanks to everyone who has wished me well!

I truly wouldn’t have been able to do it without the support that I’ve had and I’ll be running with you all in my heart (and when it gets hard in my head!)

IMG_9653
Celebrating with my Dad had finished the race last year.

Last year when I went to watch my Dad I didn’t know then that I’d be here this year! But I couldn’t think of a better reason to run!

This charity means a lot to me, they will always have a place in my heart for what they did for my friend Will and his wife Amy. For the fact that they campaign for people to wear bike helmets – something that’s important to me after my dad was knocked off his bike and saved by his bike helmet. For how the members of Headway West London touched my heart with their everyday bravery after surviving brain injury. And for the kindness and support this lovely small charity have shown to me throughout this process! Big up Cerys and Lizzie from the Headway team!

This year’s marathon is also a mental health marathon raising awareness of all different mental health issues with Heads Together. I’m proud to run it this year with that in mind too. I find a run really helps me refocus and relax and so I think the marathon and Heads Together are a perfect match.

In some ways this is one of the biggest days of my life. It’s going to stay with me forever whether this is the first of many or the only one.

IMG_2138I just hope my training and the support I have received gets me all the way through to the finish line in one piece! Lots of luck to all the other marathon runners!

Head up, stay strong, keep going. You got this Siobhan!

Here’s to tomorrow!

London Marathon 2017


IMG_2146I will be running using my Asics trainers, Garmin GPS watch, Science in Sport gels (orange flavour), flipbelt to carry them, double layered socks, H&M sports bra and leggings, puma hat (to keep the sun away), Heads Together band and of course my Headway jersey.


I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

To find out more about Headway and what they do visit their website here.

Leave a Reply

