2 weeks to go: Week 14

I can’t quite believe it. There are just two weeks left until the London Marathon.

It was a bit up and down this week, things started well but on Wednesday I got an awful migraine and felt really bad. I had to go home from work, I didn’t go for a run and I rested.

I am concerned at this point in training to continue to be in good health for the next 2 weeks! I’m starting to get annoyed at people on the tube who are coughing without putting their hand over their mouth. I have worked so hard so I just want to get there feeling as good as I can. So it is important to chill out if you’re not feeling that great.

I think I will continue to have anxiety until the day. Last night I had my first marathon dream. I don’t remember what happened but it was the race day and I remember things weren’t going great. I don’t know how many more of these will happen over the next couple of weeks. This really has taken over my whole life.

I felt much better the day after the migraine and my runs this week have been quite strong. It feels good. When it came to my long run of just 12 miles on Sunday I aimed to run it at race pace. It was super warm and even though I was running just a little faster than my race pace it felt hot and it was tiring.

I really hope that it is NOT that warm on the marathon day. I thought of all those people running the Brighton Marathon today in the hot weather and feel like they are heroes!

IMG_1962.jpg
Teddington Locke in the sun

It was a beautiful day and it was part of a route I had taken early on in training when it was SUPER cold and frosty and today it was sunshine and blue skies and it was beautiful. It made me think of all the different things I have been through; frost, snow, rain and now sun!

At this stage in training I am thinking back a lot, thinking of how far I have come. How sometimes it has been the hardest thing in the world and other times I have never felt prouder. It’s been a really fascinating challenge.

I believe I can do it and I know that even if it gets hard I have so much support that it will get me through, both from donors and also people’s kind words! I can’t quite explain how amazing it has been to get so much support and to have raised so much money for such a great charity.

IMG_1966.jpg
At the end of my 12 miles and end of Week 14.

I can’t wait to see the Headway team at mile 6.5 outside the De Vere Hotel, I will take with me thoughts of the wonderful people I met at Headway West London and all those from stories I have read from brain injury survivors. These people have learnt to thrive after brain injury so what’s a marathon compared to that?

I’m still super nervous about the day, anxious to get it done, excited to do it and cannot wait to cross that finish line. Lot of emotions already.

Not long now…

Until next week.

Siobhan x


I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

To find out more about Headway and what they do visit their website here. 

Leave a Reply

