It aint all that bad: Week 10

The past two weeks have been pretty hard, but you will be pleased to hear that this week has been a lot better and so I won’t be moaning today. After running the 18 miles last week I’m starting to feel positive about my running and am beginning to believe I can actually do this. (What’s an extra 8 more miles right?! right?)

I mean this week my legs have been shouting at me “Siobhan! What the hell are we doing at training again?! You realise we literally ran 18 miles and we’re still doing 4 runs this week?!” But the show must go on and so my legs were told to shut up and we carried on.

Other than tiredness I’m feeling good. It is week 10 and that means there are just 6 weeks left until the day! 6!

I know it’s still over a month but compared to the 10 weeks I’ve done it’s amazing. The Marathon is getting closer and I’m starting to feel I’m ready to do this.

There are just three more 16 mile+ runs to go before tapering.

Plus, on Wednesday I had the day off of work and got to spend some time with Stu. It was really nice to spend some time together and after being tired was great to have some time to relax.

IMG_1624.jpg
Thank you to all who sponsored me so far

Then, my positivity levels got even higher when on Thursday I reached my second fundraising target of £2,500 for Headway which was great!! Now my target is £3,000!

Maybe this marathon training aint all that bad.

Come Sunday I had the North London Half Marathon race. Last year I ran this Half in 1.58.59 and it is the fastest I’ve ever ran a half in. Last year my Dad ran it with me and was there to pace me. Could I beat that time this year? I have weeks of training with the running club on my side – however on the other side I would be running alone with no one to push me.

I ended the run in 1.56.29 which was a PB by over 2 minutes! (I’ll write a review of the race mid-week).thumb_IMG_1654_1024

It was a good week. It’s still tough as hell but this week I’m feeling good.

It’s my birthday next Friday so hopefully the good weeks will continue. Now it’s late, I’m shattered and it’s time for bed.

So, until next week,

Siobhan xx


I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

To find out more about Headway and what they do visit their website here. 

Leave a Reply

