I get knocked down but I get up again: Week 5

This week was not ideal, but it was the perfect week for it.

On Thursday I had a hospital appointment in the day. The plan was to still go to track that night. However, due to a slight phobia of hospitals, the appointment ended in me passing out and therefore advised not to go training that night.

As the next session after track was on the Friday morning that was also out of the question and to be fair I was pretty shattered by it all so maybe it was best.

I felt really upset about it – the first sessions I’ve missed, plus it was on top of an easy week last week in my plan.

On Friday night I went to a Headway drinks reception for London Marathon runners. When  Cerys (the wonderful Senior Community Fundraiser for Headway who supports all of us through this journey) asked me how it had been going I couldn’t help but look disappointed. Cerys told me not to worry and that I was doing a great job both running and fundraising – the Headway team are always so positive, helpful and supportive.

At the reception we were given more details about the Headway services the money we are raising is going towards and we heard from a previous Headway London Marathon runner. Everyone in the room was running because they knew someone who has been helped by Headway.

It reminded me why this charity is so important and why I’m proud to be running for them. Every 90 seconds someone in the UK is admitted to Hospital with a brain injury and it is estimated that 1 in 64 people in the UK are currently living with the effects of a brain injury. Headway is there to help those people.

The evening was a really positive experience. (Topped it off with a catch up with my friend Ruth over my first ever Vietnamese dinner. Yum.)

As Sunday came along I was ready for my 14 miles. It started out great but by 10 miles my legs were starting to get stiff, I guess after the lack of miles recently they were a bit surprised we were sticking to the 14 miles on the plan.

img_1087
My 14 mile route

But even though it wasn’t easy I just thought about the reasons WHY I was doing this and powered through.

I’m feeling really proud (and a little sore), especially after the way the week went, to have completed 14 miles today – the furthest run so far.

I ran 14 miles! I’m feeling smug…just imagine what I’ll be like at the London Marathon finish line.

But for now my lovely boyfriend Stu is making lunch and so I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Sunday.

Until next week,

Siobhan x

 

 


I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

To find out more about Headway and what they do visit their website here. 

Leave a Reply

