When the going gets tough: Week 3

It’s been a bit of an odd one this week, it’s week three and it’s suddenly hit me how much commitment this is all going to take.

I run on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays which means I run at least every other day and have already covered 68 miles this year. It’s starting to feel like it’s all I’m doing (and that I’m becoming an extremely boring person just talking about running all the time). I am going to be continuing to do this for the next 13 weeks – sorry friends and family.

I’m still getting fitter, getting better at running and enjoying my runs so it’s not that I want to stop however the reality of the task has definitely set in.

I think that if I would give anyone else who is doing their first marathon, or half marathon, advice it would be don’t run alone. I am so pleased that I joined Ranelagh Harriers as without them I think this journey would be really hard.

Running with other people spurs you on, they’ll notice if you’re not there or when your flagging during training you have a someone to boost your energy saying ‘well done’ or ‘keep going you can do it’.

IMG_1001.JPG
Teddington Lock looked amazing on my Sunday long run at about 7.30am


It also allows me to then enjoy my long runs more as I don’t mind being on my own once or twice a week. I get to see some amazing things on my route and also get that time to just think and clear my mind.

I have no doubt that I am going to continue, I am determined and willing to put in the hard work. People have put their faith in me already sponsoring me and supporting me…

But they do say when the going gets tough the tough get going…so I guess here I go.

Until next week,

Siobhan x

I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

Leave a Reply

