Lest We Forget…

Yesterday I took part in the Poppy Half Marathon in Bexhill-On-Sea running in memory of the brave.

15078566_10154723556549464_4832883007903133359_n
Me at the start line

When Dad and I arrived at the sea-side it was wet, windy, rainy and cold. I picked up my number and we began with a 2 minute silence. I left Dad at the viewers point and headed to the start line.

The course was two and a half laps along the seaside. I decided to take this one at a comfortable pace as I have never ran in such winds before.

By 3 miles in I was soaked and so was everyone else. Not only the rain but also the water from the sea was being blown in our faces which gave this odd salt water taste. Although there was something a little satisfying about it.

The course was mainly flat which was good and it was nice to see the sea, even if it did look like a scary monster ready to swallow you up.

There was a real community vibe to the race and I think there were lots of running clubs taking part. As people were coming back on themselves they would see other members from their running club and say “hey, well done, keep going!”

Before I knew it I’d reached 10miles. It seemed to have flown by. During the last 5km I was overtaking people and was quite surprised that I still had energy left in me.

So at the finish line I sprinted and managed to beat someone that had been in front of me for the whole race which felt pretty awesome. I finished at 2.02.32 and was really impressed with my time.

I received my medal and it was a really good one. It was big and chunky but it also had the date and remembrance on it; like some large poppy.

Past the finish line there was a tent full of sweets, crisps, water, mince pies and coke.  I thought this was pretty amazing. I would encourage more races to do this because it was great!

It was a hard race as the conditions were pretty awful. It was cold the whole way despite running and the wind was really strong at some points. I felt proud of everyone taking part.

There were some true race heroes including two men dressed in army outfits and wearing backpacks that looked extremely heavy and one old man dressed in a WWII soldier outfit running. Bless him he looked so positive the whole way even though you could see it was hard for him.

But it was just a race. What we all did yesterday is nothing compared to what our soldiers have done, are doing and continue to do for us. Our pain was nothing to the families and friends of those we have lost.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them. We need to remember them.

Lest we forget.

 

Leave a Reply

