The struggle is real…

With the wedding last week and tiredness kicking in I decided that by Friday evening, having only ran once on the Monday, that I would give myself that week off.

My logical side knows that it’s important to be able to give yourself a week off occasionally and so I’m trying not to be too disappointed about it.

But this morning when I woke up to run, as it was a new week, my body just didn’t want to go. I was already dressed to go and I just couldn’t step outside the door. I was tired, it was cold outside and I thought going back to bed and sleeping for an extra hour and a half seemed a lot more appealing and so that’s what I did.

Sometimes it’s just really hard to get up and go for a run. The idea of how far you have to go, the warm up, the cool down. It all just seems like a lot of work!

I prefer to run early in the morning when no one else is up so I can get it out the way. Especially as after work is much harder than the morning as you’ve worked the day and you’re missing out on plans with friends.

So I didn’t run today. The lazy side of me took over. So I now have to face the day with my runners guilt that I didn’t go. The thoughts that are running through my head already are that I’ve lost all ability to run, my fitness has already gone out the window and what if I’m not cut out for this marathon stuff?

I know they’re nonsense but they happen.

Some days running is great and I love it, no better feeling. Then some days it’s just really hard. I never thought it would be easy but I am definitely being challenged more than I imagined.

I will get back to it though, I have to. I will do this! I’ve got running club tomorrow night to help motivate me and an amazing team at Headway who are supporting me for what I’m doing.

So let the journey continue…

Leave a Reply

