Poole Party

6pm Tuesday 25 October.

Work’s over and I’m really excited. Why? Because once I leave the office I’m off to get Stu and we’re to make our way to Poole to see our friends Amy and Will get married.

“That’s all very well Siobhan” I hear you say, “But why are you telling us about your friends’  wedding on your running blog?”

Well, Amy and Will are the couple who introduced me to Headway; the charity I am running the marathon for…that’s why! So stop asking questions and just enjoy the post.

So, the morning arrived and I couldn’t wait for the festivities to begin and after a bacon sarnie and a quick catch up with Will over breakfast in the hotel Stu and I made our way to the church.

The day was wonderful. It was surrounded by love, the bride glowing, the groom looking mighty dapper and the weather was flawless (as were mine and Stu’s dance moves).

Usually the words that a couple make to each other are promises that they vow to keep:  ‘for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and health’, but not for this couple, oh no, this was more of a checklist of what they’ve already done for one another.

Will and Amy introduced me to Headway because after Will suffered a brain bleed in 2013 they have been supported by the charity. It’s amazing to see the journey that they have been on.

(You can watch their love story here – once you’ve finished reading of course.)

They have stood by and supported one another and battled and fought everything that has been thrown at them with laughs, love and strength and it was an honour to watch the get married.

I’m proud to be running the London Marathon to fundraise for Headway, to support the charity in providing the tools that will help other people achieve the same successes as Amy and Will.

I want to say a huge congratulations to the new Mr and Mrs Perringwood! I look forward to your next chapter…


Amy and Will have been filmed for a documentary for ITV which focuses on those who thrive after surviving. The wedding was included in this documentary so please do watch for yourselves on 8th December 9pm ITV1.

To sponsor me for the London Marathon click through to my sponsorship page here: uk.virginmoneygiving.co.uk/SiobhanSharp .

To find out more about Headway and what they do visit their website here. 

 

Leave a Reply

