Marathon Madness

I’ve never entered the ballot for the London Marathon before. I mean previous to this I was dead against running one at all.

Why on earth would I want to run all that way and put my body through that much training and pain?

But against those (more logical) thoughts I decided to enter to run to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association.

When I applied for my charity place (which in case you hadn’t realised I was successful in), I also entered the ballot as should I get a ballot place Headway can allow someone else to run for them to also raise money for their great cause.

October.

That’s was when we’d find out our fate in the ballot goblet of marathon opportunity.

And as time went on, it was discovered that this would be the week.

The London Marathon send you one of two magazines to let you know if you’ve made it: one says ‘you’re in’ and the other ‘sorry’ or ‘bad news’ or something along those lines on the front cover.

Now I know I have a place but the anticipation is still very exciting. I have since moved out of my mum’s house and am constantly texting ‘any post yet?’…it’s only been two days. My poor mother.

In the office, a few of us who entered have been saying ‘heard anything yet?!’

Then today one of the girls got a rejection email!!! An email?! That’s not standard Marathon behaviour…WHAT?

‘What do you mean you got an email?’

‘Have you got an email?’

‘Me? No, maybe it means we’re in’

…I mean I tell you, you’d think we were 11 year old mudbloods waiting for our Hogwarts letter to arrive.

But alas no magical school of witchcraft and wizardry can help you with this one.

There is huge anticipation around the London Marathon ballot and I never thought I’d ever get this excited about an event that, a year ago, I didn’t even want to do.

I guess it is one of the biggest sporting events in the country and it is a big deal!

So hey, why not…LET’S GET EXCITED!!

Whatever the result I will be running and I am proud to be doing it to raise money and awareness for Headway.

(I’ll explain why soon I promise).

So in these final days of waiting I want to wish good luck to all ballot participants who are yet to hear and to all those who have been successful – I’ll see you in April.

Bring on the training!


I’m running the London Marathon to raise money for Headway, the brain injury association. You can sponsor me here: uk.virginmoneygiving.com/SiobhanSharp

Leave a Reply

