The world should try running

Anyone who can, should try running. Don’t get me wrong it can be really tough but it can also be rewarding in so many ways.

One of the things I have experienced during my running years is the overwhelming sense of community that runners feel towards each other.

Never in another situation in London would I expect someone to smile and say “Good morning” to me, yet when I run past another runner it happens and I smile back all red faced and muster up a “morning” through the pain.

During some organised races I have done runners have been so friendly. If you look like your struggling they’ll say “Come on you can do it”, if you’ve done a great finish they come up to you and say “great sprint at the end”. It is such an encouraging and non-judgmental environment.

I’ve even read recently in my Women’s Running magazine stories of how people have made friends or fallen in love with people they met on the start line of a race. It’s so lovely.

I just think it is just such a nice way to be and I think perhaps the world could do with a little more running right now. (I guess that’s what makes the Olympics so special).

For a sport that is based on solo ability and relies on no body else it is uplifting that it can bring people together. It’s just nice to see some kindness in this world of hate at the moment.

So get out there, go for a run! It doesn’t matter how far or fast and if you see someone else running along say hey, you’re in the runners family now!

 

Leave a Reply

